What are you looking for ?

2019-20 SNIA Board of Directors and Technical Council Members

NGD Systems joins board, AMD technical council.

The Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA) announces its 2019-2020 board of directors and technical council (TC). 

SNIA’s mission is to lead the storage industry in developing and promoting vendor-neutral architectures, standards and educational services that facilitate the efficient management, movement and security of information.
“The rapid growth in storage services from the large Hyperscalers, the transition from disk to flash in enterprise IT, and the impending architectural discontinuity driven by persistent memory are reshaping the landscape and direction of storage technologies,” said David Dale, SNIA chair. “In response, SNIA continues to make progress in persistent memory, solid state storage form-factor standards, next-gen storage management initiatives, and power efficiency standards, while adding new work groups focused on computational storage, object drives and key value APIs.

We are seeing an increasing number of start-up companies joining the major system and component vendors on the SNIA board and as active members in the organization,” said Michael Oros, SNIA executive director. “NGD Systems joining the SNIA board amplifies the voice and energy of the storage start-up community within SNIA. Together with new industry participation from AMD, ARM, Facebook and others that became members this year, SNIA is extremely well positioned to lead the vendor community innovation and storage standards development for the rapidly growing data-driven economy.”

The SNIA board sets the strategy and directs the execution of SNIA’s mission and vision, and the TC advances the technical agenda and standards work in the organization.

2019-2020 SNIA board of directors
Executive committee:
• David Dale, NetApp – chair
• Chris Lionetti, Hewlett Packard Enterprise – vice chair
• Jim Williams, Oracle Corporation – secretary
• Rob Peglar, Advanced Computation and Storage LLC – treasurer
• Wayne Adams – chair emeritus, advisor
• Michael Oros – SNIA executive director
Board members:
• Richelle Ahlvers, Broadcom
• P.K. Gupta, Dell EMC
• J Metz, Cisco Systems
• Jim Pappas, Intel Corporation
• Scott Shadley, NGD Systems
• Paul von Stamwitz, Fujitsu
• Tatsuya Tanaka, Kioxia Corporation
• Michelle Tidwell, IBM
Board advisors:
• Sue Amarin, industry consultant
• Mark Carlson, Kioxia Corporation – TC co-chair
• Bill Martin, Samsung – TC co-chair
• SW Worth, industry consultant

2019-20 Technical Council
• Mark Carlson, Kioxia Corporation – co-chair
• Bill Martin, Samsung – co-chair
• Curtis Ballard, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
• Alan Bumgarner, Intel Corporation
• Fred Knight, NetApp
• Peter Murray, Pure Storage
• Glen Jaquette, IBM
• Leah Schoeb, AMD
• Tom Talpey, Microsoft Corporation
• Steve Wilson, Broadcom
TC Advisors:
• Craig Carlson, Marvell Technology Group
• Arnold Jones, SNIA
• Alex McDonald, NetApp (SNIA EMEA)
• Gregory McSorley, Amphenol
• Yukinori Sakashita, Yahoo Japan (SNIA Japan)
• David Thiel, Industry Consultant